• Home
  • Contact Us
  • Login

About Us

The North East Catchment Management Authority is one of ten authorities established by the Victorian Government in July 1997.

Each CMA works with the community, government and funding organisations to protect and enhance land, water and biodiversity resources.

We encourage landholders, community groups and government to address the 'big' natural resource management issues facing our region, including adapting to climate change, fostering sustainable agriculture, managing cultural heritage and identifying the impacts of 'tree change' trends on land management in the North East.

The North East CMA has a highly skilled and dedicated network of around 35 staff who work from our Wodonga, Tallangatta and Everton offices.




Our region

Victoria's north east is rich in natural assets; snow topped mountains, river valleys, open plains and natural forests. The region is bounded by the Murray River in the north, the Victorian Alps in the south, the NSW border in the east and the Warby Ranges in the west. It takes in the local government municipalities of Wodonga, Indigo, Wangaratta, Alpine and Towong, plus parts of the Moira and East Gippsland shires.

Read More

Who We Are

The North East CMA is responsible for coordinating integrated catchment management and sustainable land and water use in Victoria's North East.

Read More

Our partners

Our projects and programs involve; the Victorian Department of and Environment, Land, Water and Planning (DELWP), Parks Victoria, Landcare networks and groups, local government, North East Water, Goulburn-Murray Water, Environment Protection Authority, Trust for Nature, Greening Australia, Traditional Owners, community and industry groups. Our key investment partners include the Victorian Government and the Australian Government.

Read More

Freedom of Information

Victoria’s Freedom of Information Act 1982 gives the public a right to apply for access to documents in North East Catchment Management Authority's possession unless exempt. Find out more about the application and payment process.

Read More


The North East CMA has responsibilities under several Victorian Acts including the Catchment and Land Protection Act 1994, Water Act 1989, Protected Disclosures Act 2012, Freedom of Information Act 1982 and several others. The Minister has issued a Statement of Obligations under each of these Acts. These set out the CMA's responsibilities under each Act.

Read More


Access strategies, plans, reports and technical information relevant to the North East that you can use on your farm, distribute to members of your community group or build into your school assignment.

Read More

Employment opportunities

Current job opportunities

Read More

Doing Business with Us

Find out more about doing business with the CMA, upcoming procurement opportunities and how to invoice us.

Read More