• Home
  • Contact Us
  • Login


Monday, 4 July 2022

CMAs mark 25 years

Victoria's 10 CMAs came into being on 1 July 1997. This month we celebrate our 25th anniversary.

Under the Catchment and Land Protection Act 1994, Victoria is divided into 10 catchment management regions and each has a CMA responsible for the integrated planning and coordination of land, water and biodiversity management in their region. The exception is the Port Phillip and Westernport catchment region where it is now Melbourne Water.

Under the Water Act 1989, authorities are designated with specific responsibility for the management of waterways, including roles in drainage and floodplain management.

The designated waterway management authorities are the nine CMAs and Melbourne Water who have the lead role in developing and delivering regional programs for waterway management.

Staff at North East CMA marked the milestone with a celebration lunch and birthday cupcakes, each carrying the logo of one of the 10 CMAs.



Categories: General, News, Media ReleaseNumber of views: 658


Theme picker