• Home
  • Contact Us
  • Login


New North East CMA Board commences

October 3, 2017

NORTH East Catchment Management CEO Neil McCarthy has congratulated four newly appointed board members to the organisation and thanked the four outgoing board members for their contributions.
Mr McCarthy welcomed the announcement from the Minister for Water, the Hon Lisa Neville, in mid September that Leanne Mulcahy will be the new Chair of North East CMA.
“Ms Mulcahy is an experienced communications and strategy consultant, who has worked in local government,” Mr McCarthy said.
“She’ll be joined by new board members Catherine Prichard, Miriam McGowan and Russel Sheppard. Mrs Prichard is a semi-retired accountant who has held senior roles in the Australian Tax Office. Ms McGowan is an owner-operator beef and sheep farmer, and she also owns and operates a property development business with her partner. Mr Sheppard has extensive senior experience in the health sector. He has worked as a senior manager in various roles, and was an assistant director of business at the iconic Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park.
“We look forward to working with all of the new appointees and benefitting from their diverse experiences and fresh ideas.”
He paid tribute to outgoing chair, Lyn Coulston OAM, for her tireless dedication to catchment management in north east Victoria.
“Lyn has been a North East CMA Board member since 2000 and our Chair since 2011 and has been a humble but determined
advocate for conservation and the environment across our region. She is also chair of the Victorian Blackberry Taskforce and Trees Victoria, and secretary of the Upper Murray Landcare Network. In 2014 she received a well-deserved Order of Australia Medal for Services to Conservation and the Environment and, in 2015, she was awarded the prestigious inaugural Joan Kirner Victorian Landcare Award,” he said.
“We also farewell board members Jane Carney, a leader in agriculture and project management, retired senior manager from Parks Victoria Hamish MacLennan, and former Rural City of Wangaratta councillor Bernard Young. We wish all of our past board members good health and hope they continue their endeavours in natural resource management.
“I would also like to congratulate Robert Hescock on his re-appointment by the Minister to our Board.”
Minister Neville thanked outgoing chair Lyn Coulston for her contribution and ongoing commitment to catchment management in the north east region and congratulated the new board members.
She said the new appointments would bring fresh skills into the sector and would ensure that the North East CMA Board reflected the communities it represented.
The North East CMA Board now comprises five women and four men.
Minister Neville said: “We want to ensure women have a seat at the table, and are part of the decision making for Victoria’s water security. We’re unapologetic in our determination to promote inclusiveness and equality in our water sector, which is why it’s fantastic to see highly experienced and skilled women in senior roles.”
The new Board commenced on October 1, 2017.

Author: Anonym

Categories: News, Media ReleaseNumber of views: 8800